Skip to content

Does Starbucks Sell Dairy Free Food?

Does starbucks sell dairy free food?

Starbucks, a little neighborhood coffee shop that started in Seattle, is now in almost everyone’s neighborhood worldwide. But does Starbucks sell dairy free food?

They are well-known for their delicious coffee and drinks but have a growing food menu for guests to enjoy.

Eating anywhere can be tricky for lactose-intolerant people, and Starbucks is no exception.

Hidden dairy products weasel their way into food ingredient lists. Navigating which foods are safe to eat and which ones will bring you discomfort can be a massive headache.

Lucky for you, we went through the entire Starbucks food menu to help you out.

We sorted out all of the dairy-free Starbucks food (and a few lactose-free items) so that you can grab some grub with confidence!

Here is your free guide for navigating food choices at Starbucks without having to worry about dairy or lactose:

Note: If you have a dairy allergy, Starbucks has issued a warning that they “cannot guarantee that any of their products are free from allergens (including dairy, eggs, tree nuts, wheat, and others) as they use shared equipment to store, prepare and serve them.

Starbucks Dairy and Lactose-Free Food Items

Starbucks offers a wide range of food items to complement their coffee, tea, and drinks. In the morning, the coffeehouse offers breakfast sandwiches, baked goods, and bagels. Throughout the day, there are desserts and sandwiches to fill you up.

If you are living dairy free and lactose intolerant, here is a breakdown of different categories of food Starbucks sells at their stores:

Baked Goods

Starbucks baked goods and coffee make a great duo. 

However, baked items are always a mixed basket in terms of dairy content. Sometimes, milk or cheese makes its way into a product as a moistening or flavoring agent.

Fortunately, Starbucks does have several food options that diners can choose from that are dairy-free and completely vegan.

Here is a list of dairy-free (anything vegan is dairy-free) and lactose-friendly baked goods at Starbucks:


  • Cheese, Onion & Garlic Bagel (contains dairy) (lactose-friendly)
  • Cinnamon Raisin Bagel
  • Everything Bagel (contains dairy) (lactose-friendly)
  • Plain Bagel (vegan)
  • Sprouted Grain Bagel (vegan)

You may have noticed that some of the items on this list contain cheese or dairy. The Everything Bagel has cheese, so it isn’t suitable for a dairy allergy. However, it has Asiago cheese, which has low lactose levels and is fine for most lactose-intolerant people to eat. The Cheese, Onion, and Garlic Bagel has cheddar cheese, which is also safe for most lactose-intolerant people.

Bonus: Do bagels have dairy in them? Here’s everything you need to know.

Cookies, Brownies, and Bars

Cookies, brownies, and bars make a delicious treat throughout the day and pair well with coffee. Many of these delicacies contain milk, so it can be challenging to find a dairy-free option.

There are two excellent vegan and dairy-free choices for sweet lovers to try: 

  • Dark Chocolate Fudge Brownie (vegan)
  • Raspberry Walnut and Oat Nut Square (vegan)

Loaves and Cakes

Loaves and cakes beg to be dunked in a hot cup of joe. However, if you can’t eat dairy, that isn’t always a great idea. Many of Starbuck’s loaves and cakes have milk in them, but a few do not.

Here are two delicious options that you can try:

  • Banana Nut Loaf (vegan)
  • Pumpkin Loaf (vegan)

Starbucks Breakfast, Dairy Free?

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Starbucks is a natural breakfast destination because many people go there to pick up some coffee and food to start their day.

Unfortunately, many breakfast dishes contain lactose or dairy. Starting your morning off with a tummy ache or worse is not ideal.

Luckily, Starbucks has several dairy-free and lactose-free breakfast items to choose from, so you can start your day off right:

  • Hearty Blueberry Oatmeal (vegan)
  • Impossible Breakfast Sandwich (lactose-friendly)
  • Oatmeal (vegan)
  • Plant-based Breakfast Sandwich (vegan)
  • Seasonal Fruit Blend (vegan)
  • Strawberry Overnight Grains (vegan)

Most of these options are vegan, but the Impossible Breakfast Sandwich does contain butter and cheddar cheese. People with dairy allergies should avoid this item, but lactose-intolerant people don’t typically have any issues with those products.

Starbucks Lunch, Dairy Free?

Starbucks is also popular at lunchtime. The restaurant has plenty of sandwiches and protein boxes to satisfy your hunger.

Unfortunately, none of their paninis are entirely dairy-free. Most of them have lactose-laden mozzarella cheese in them.

However, if you’re lactose-intolerant, some options work.


These two paninis contain cheese with almost undetectable amounts of lactose:

  • Ham and Swiss Panini (lactose-friendly) 
  • Turkey and Pesto Panini (lactose-friendly)

The cheese in the Ham and Swiss panini is one of the most suitable for lactose-intolerant people. There is provolone and parmesan cheese in their Turkey and Pesto Panini, both with trace amounts of lactose.

All of these make great lunch options for lactose-intolerant people.

Protein Boxes

If sandwiches aren’t your thing or you need a dairy-free option, Starbucks offers nutritious and delicious protein boxes.

Not all of them are lactose and dairy-free, but there are a few that fit those criteria:

  • Cheese and Fruit Protein Box (lactose-friendly)
  • Chickpea Bites & Avocado Protein Box (vegan)
  • Eggs and Cheddar Protein Box (lactose-friendly)
  • Grilled Chicken and Hummus Protein Box (lactose-friendly) 

The only completely dairy-free option for lunch is the Chickpea Bites and Avocado Protein Box. It is a delicious option that is also vegan.

Seeing a Cheese and Fruit Protein Box on this list might confuse you, but brie, gouda, and cheddar cheeses are naturally low in lactose. Lactose-intolerant people can enjoy this fruit and cheese box.

If you glance at the label, you might miss the dairy in the Grilled Chicken and Hummus Protein box. However, take a closer look, and you’ll see that it contains ghee (clarified butter). Butter is naturally very low in lactose, so it is okay for lactose-intolerant people to eat.

Bottom Line

Starbucks has dairy in many of its food choices, but that shouldn’t scare you away from this coffeehouse.

There is plenty of dairy and lactose-free options to choose from, including breakfast items, baked goods, desserts, and lunch options.

With this list, you can avoid all of the scary dairy products in your food and enjoy your meal at Starbucks confidently.

Always be sure to double-check the menu before eating there since Starbucks updates it frequently.

Leave a Reply