Are Wendy’s Frostys Dairy-Free?

If you’re lactose-intolerant, you might be wondering, are Wendy’s Frostys dairy free?

Wendy’s is a go-to fast food staple when you want something quick and tasty.

One of their most famous menu items is their signature Frosty, a frozen dessert like a milkshake.

People love Frostys because they are an oh-so-refreshing treat that compliments Wendy’s burgers and fries.

If you want to know the answer to that question and what menu items at Wendy’s are okay to eat, stay tuned.

This article will give you a rundown of every Wendy’s dairy-free and lactose-free menu item so that you can enjoy their food worry-free – including Frostys!

What is a Wendy’s Frosty?

Wendy’s introduced their original Frosty to their customers when they opened in 1969. Initially, it only came in one flavor, light chocolate. This flavor was a combination of chocolate and vanilla.

Frostys are not quite ice cream and not quite milkshakes. Their texture lies somewhere in between those two tasty treats.

Are Wendy’s Frostys dairy free?

Unfortunately, no

Frostys have milk, cream, sugar, cocoa, and other ingredients.

Dairy-Free Frosty Recipe Dupe

While the original Wendy’s Frosty is not dairy-free, there are plenty of dupes out there that taste just like the real thing.

If you are on a lactose or dairy-free diet, here are a couple of recipes that you can try:

Our Dairy-Free Frosty

A quick and healthy dairy-free Wendy’s dupe is our recipe. It only takes 10 minutes to make and has a thick and creamy texture like the real thing!

Ingredients include a frozen banana, ice cubes, honey, vanilla extract, Cocoa powder, and coconut milk.

Healthy Recipe Ecstasy’s Dairy-Free Frosty Copycat Recipe

This recipe by Recipe Ecstasy is a dairy-free version of the Wendy’s Frosty. It’s a little less thick, making it easier to drink out of a straw than the original.

Ingredients in this copycat version include vanilla dairy-free coconut milk ice cream (they recommend So Delicious), unsweetened almond milk, and unsweetened cocoa powder.

Wendy’s Dairy and Lactose-Free Menu

Wendy’s has an extensive menu with plenty of tasty items. However, many of these items have sneaky dairy products in them.

It can be challenging navigating which products have dairy in them and which ones don’t.

Here is a comprehensive list of all the items at Wendy’s that either does not contain dairy or are lactose-friendly:

Note: Wendy’s has an allergen disclaimer that states: “We provide known instances of allergens; however, please understand that cross-contact is possible due to the common handling and preparation areas in our restaurants. We are unable to guarantee that any menu item can be completely free of allergens. Customers with allergies and sensitivities should exercise judgment when ordering.”

You can read the full Wendy’s menu here.

Sandwiches/Prepared Foods

Many of the sandwiches have some form of dairy or lactose in them, but these do not. This list consists of sandwiches that you can order right off the menu without worrying about its dairy/lactose content. However, if you have a severe dairy allergy, there is a possibility for cross-contamination.

Here are Wendy’s dairy-free sandwiches and prepared food:

  • Jr. Hamburger (with no cheese)
  • Spicy/Classic Chicken Sandwich
  • Crispy Chicken Sandwich
  • Chilli* (hamburger patties used have cross-contamination potential)

If you want to ensure these items are truly dairy-free, make sure you are careful about any sauces you add to them.

Buns

A few of Wendy’s buns do contain milk products, but most do not.

The buns that do not contain any dairy in them are:

  • Pretzel Buns
  • Premium Buns
  • Sandwich Buns

If you are lactose-intolerant, you don’t have to worry about any of these buns.

It’s important to note that Wendy’s heats all buns in the same toaster as other products that contain milk, such as biscuits and croissants.

Meat

“Where’s the beef?” is Wendy’s famous catchphrase. Do their beef and other meat contain any dairy?

Most do not.

However, they do use a common grill where they prepare other dairy products, so you have to watch out for that if you have an allergy.

Here are the meat products at Wendy’s that do not contain any dairy:

  • Applewood Smoked Bacon
  • Breakfast Chicken Fillet
  • Crispy Chicken Patty 
  • Hamburger Patty
  • Pollock Fish Fillet
  • Sausage Patty
  • Spicy Chicken Breast/Regular Chicken Breast
  • Spicy Chicken Nuggets/Regular Chicken Nuggets

Note that Wendy’s lists the Grilled Chicken Breast as a product that contains milk. The meat itself doesn’t have milk, but the oil Wendy’s fries it in does contain some.

Sides

Many of Wendy’s sides have cheese or milk-based sauces. Fortunately, there are a few classics that do not contain any dairy.

These include:

  • Fruit and Veggies
  • French Fries
  • Plain Baked Potato
  • Seasoned Potatoes

If you’re avoiding dairy, make sure you get the plain versions of each of these items.

Sauces

Sauces often fall into the gray area of dairy-free menu items. Many of their sandwiches contain lactose-laden sauces such as ranch and cheese sauce. Avoid all of the dairy discomforts and choose one of these four completely dairy-free sauces:

  • Dill Tartar Sauce
  • Ketchup
  • Mayonnaise
  • Smoked Honey Mustard

Cheese

If you don’t have a dairy allergy and are lactose intolerant, some cheeses are lactose-friendly. Some of the cheeses that Wendy’s adds to their dishes that typically contain acceptable lactose levels are:

  • Asiago
  • Muenster (one of the lowest lactose levels) – I substitute this all the time!
  • Parmesan Crisps
  • Shredded Pepper jack

Note that cheddar cheese usually has acceptable lactose amounts. Still, Wendy’s cheddar cheese sauce contains other milk products making it unsuitable for lactose-intolerant people.

Dessert

Wendy’s doesn’t offer a wide selection of dessert items, but most of them contain dairy. One treat that is okay for lactose-intolerant sweet tooths is their sugar cookie. The only dairy item it contains is butter, which has nearly untraceable amounts of lactose. Sorry, Wendy’s frosties are not dairy free.

Bonus: Does Ben And Jerry’s Have Lactose Free Ice Cream? Yes!

Bottom Line

Wendy’s has an extensive menu item with mouthwatering foods. However, like many fast food joints, Wendy’s is a landmine for people looking for dairy and lactose-free options.

Hopefully, with this article as a tool, you can enjoy dairy/lactose-free menu items with a tasty dairy-free Frosty to wash it down.

Leave a Reply